

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Customer Service



Inaugural meeting of the APPG on Customer Service

Tuesday 10th December 2024

An in-person meeting, held in Room C, 1 Parliament Street, Houses of Parliament

In attendance:

- John Slinger MP (Labour and acting Chair for this meeting)
- Blair McDougall MP (Labour)
- Kevin McKenna MP (Labour)
- Lord Sahota (Labour)
- Lord Goddard (Liberal Democrat)
- Olivia O'Mahony Parliamentary Assistant to Esther McVey MP
- Ben Hall Parliamentary Assistant to Connor Rand MP
- Jo Causon CEO, Institute of Customer Service
- David Dagger Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs, Institute of Customer Service
- Rachel McFaul Head of Communications and Corporate Affairs, Institute of Customer Service
- Oliver Hazell Associate Director, Cavendish Consulting
- Cliodhna Perry Senior Account Executive, Cavendish Consulting

Apologies:

- Connor Rand MP (Labour)
- Deirdre Costigan MP (Labour)
- Esther McVey MP (Conservative)
- Baroness Stowell (Conservative)
- Paulette Hamilton MP (Labour)
- Baroness Bennett (Green)
- James Asser MP (Labour)
- Dan Tomlinson MP (Labour)
- David Pinto-Duschinsky MP (Labour)
- Olivia Blake MP (Labour)
- Natalie Fleet MP (Labour)
- Lord Iain McNicol (Labour)



All-Party Parliamentary Group on

Customer Service



Contributions from speakers and attendees

John Slinger MP chaired this meeting due to Connor Rand MP being taken ill.

John Slinger MP – Chair of the meeting:

- Opened the meeting and welcomed attendees.
- Moved the election for Chair of the APPG.
- Kevin McKenna MP nominated Connor Rand as Chair of the APPG
- Blair McDougall MP seconded Mr McKenna's nomination.
- Mr Rand's election as Chair of the APPG following nomination was unanimously voted for.
- Connor Rand MP was therefore duly elected as Chair of the APPG on Customer Service.

John Slinger MP – Chair of the meeting:

- Moved the election of officers for the APPG.
- Lord Sahota nominated Baroness Stowell to be an officer.
- Kevin McKenna MP seconded Lord Sahota's nomination.
- Baroness Stowell's election as Officer of the APPG following nomination was unanimously voted for.
- Baroness Stowell was therefore duly elected as Officer of the APPG on Customer Service.
- Blair McDougall nominated Esther McVey to be an officer.
- Kevin McKenna seconded Blair McDougall's nomination.
- Esther McVey election as Officer of the APPG following nomination was unanimously voted for.
- Esther McVey was therefore duly elected as Officer of the APPG on Customer Service.
- Kevin Mckenna nominated Lord Sahota to be an officer
- Blair McDougall seconded Kevin McKenna's nomination
- Lord Sahota's election as Officer of the APPG following nomination was unanimously voted for.
- Lord Sahota was therefore duly elected as Officer of the APPG on Customer Service

John Slinger MP – Chair of the meeting:

- Thanked everyone for their attendance and voting for the Chair and Officers of the APPG.
- He highlighted the importance of customer service in, and to the growth of, businesses, but particularly
 focused on the importance of protecting those providing customer services across all sectors, including
 but not limited to retail, from abuse.

Jo Causon - CEO, Institute of Customer Service:

• Thanked everyone for coming and noted that the first meeting of the APPG would be held in February 2025, with the focus of that meeting being on worker protection, particularly focussed on those in front-line customer service roles.

Meeting Ends: 11:30